Spelling Counts on Jeopardy

I saw this over at the Warming Glow, where the author seems to think the kid should have received credit even though he spelled the word wrong.  Sorry, but spelling does count and the kid was informed of that when the show went over the rules with him.  Suck it up kid.

What is more annoying to me is the fact that no one is mentioning that the kid had no chance of winning.  The winner had $36,600 going into Final Jeopardy, there was no way he could have been caught.  Here is the more amazing thing though, he bet $30,000!  No one could catch him, yet he had the balls to almost bet his entire amount.

The reason he bet so much?  Apparently he is a Civil War buff and must have been pretty excited when they announced the Final Jeopardy Category.  I honestly do not know if I would have the guts to do that even if it was a category I was 99% sure about.